ASL Signs for CANADA

How to sign "Canada" in American Sign Language:

Meaning: a country in North America bordering with the U.S. to the south and the U.S. state of Alaska to the west.

Pronunciation (sign description): Dominant "10" hand with palm facing the signer taps twice on the side of the dominant-sided chest.


ASL signs for the provinces in Canada: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland.

Related signs: O Canada.

Deaf Culture/History

The Accessible Canada Act (ACA) recognized American Sign Language (ASL), Quebec Sign Language (LSQ), Indigenous sign languages as the primary languages of deaf people in Canada in June 2019.

In Canada, there are 357,000 Deaf Canadians and 3.21 million hard-of-hearing Canadians. Ref

~~ Feeling lucky? ¯\(°_o)/¯ Random word ~~