Spanish Sign Language (SSL)

Spanish Sign Language ("Lengua de signos o señas española" or LSE) is a sign language used mainly by Deaf people and Deaf community members in Spain.

Spanish Council of Ministers, on the proposal from the Minister of Health, Social Services and Equality and the Minister of Education, Culture and Sports, has agreed on June 13, 2014 to set the date of June 14th as the National Day of Spanish Sign Languages in Spain.

The chosen date, June 14, was adopted because of the commemoration of constitution in 1936 of Spanish Deaf People Confederation (CNSE), which is the catalyst agent of deaf movement in Spain.

Resources / Related readings

14th June declared National Day of Spanish Sign Langauge in Spain.